opera fusion: new works

Opera Fusion: New Works (OF:NW) is a dynamic partnership between Cincinnati Opera and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (CCM). Created in 2011 to foster the development of new American operas, OF:NW has grown into a nationally recognized collaboration which is not only advancing in repertoire, but also serving as an inspiring example of a successful joint venture between an educational institution and a professional performing arts organization. 


OF:NW offers composers or composer/librettist teams the opportunity to workshop an opera during a 10-day residency in Cincinnati. Residencies utilize the facilities, personnel, and talent of both Cincinnati Opera and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music (CCM). The workshops are cast with a combination of CCM students and professional artists, and each workshop concludes with a free public presentation of excerpts followed by an audience Q&A session, all of which is streamed online.



Music by Tobias Picker
Libretto by Aryeh Lev Stollman

With music by Tobias Picker and a libretto by Aryeh Lev Stollman, Awakenings tells the true story of Dr. Oliver Sacks’s astounding treatment of survivors of the great sleeping-sickness pandemic, encephalitis lethargica, which swept across the globe in the early twentieth century.

November 1-11, 2019

Public Performance:
Monday, November 11, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.
Music Hall’s Wilks Studio, Cincinnati, OH
Tickets: Admission is free, but tickets are required and space is very limited. Tickets will be available beginning Tuesday, September 24 at 10:00 AM.

Past projects

Castor and Patience (2019)
Postville: Hometown to the World (2018)
Eurydice (2018)
Hadrian (2018)
Intimate Apparel (2016)
Some Light Emerges (2016)
Shalimar the Clown (2015)
Meet John Doe (2015)
Great Scott (2014)
Fellow Travelers (2013)
Morning Star (2012)
Champion (2012)
Doubt (2011)